The Nevada Film Critics Society's 2012 Awards for Achievement in Film

argo mv 30

"Argo", Ben Affleck's suspense filled political thriller about the rescue of six Americans during the 1980 hostage crisis in Iran has been named the best picture of 2012 by the Nevada Film Critics Society.

Affleck, who directed and starred in the film as CIA exfiltration expert Tony Mendez, tied as best director with Kathryn Bigelow for her work on the gripping, Zero Dark Thirty, which recounts the ten year mission of a female CIA agent determined to find and kill Al Queda terrorist leader, Osama Ben Laden.

In the other major categories, John Hawkes won best actor in the deeply moving The Sessions for his brilliant and sensitive portrayal of a severely disabled man who, as a virgin, decides to hire a sex surrogate so he can experience the joys of intimacy with a woman.

Helen Hunt, who co-starrred with Hawkes as his tender and caring sex surrogate in The Sessions and Jennifer Lawrence who starred as a troubled young widow in David O. Russell's endearing comedy drama Silver Linings Playbook tied for Best Actress.

Below is the complete list of winners in each category:

Best Film - Argo

Best Actor - John Hawkes (The Sessions)

Best Actress - TIE - Helen Hunt (The Sessions) and Jennifer Lawrence (Silver Linings Playbook)

Best Supporting Actor - Tommy Lee Jones (Lincoln)

Best Supporting Actress - Sally Field (Lincoln)

Best Youth Performance - Tom Holland (The Impossible)

Best Director - TIE - Ben Affleck (Argo) and Kathryn Bigelow (Zero Dark Thirty)

Best Ensemble Cast - Lincoln

Best Animated Movie - Frankenweenie

Best Production Design - Les Miserables

Best Cinematography - Life Of Pi

Best Visual Effects - Life Of Pi

Submit to DeliciousSubmit to DiggSubmit to FacebookSubmit to Google PlusSubmit to StumbleuponSubmit to TechnoratiSubmit to TwitterSubmit to LinkedIn